What’s the Best Mattress Topper?

Last Updated May 23, 2022

We know sleep is vital to our overall health and well-being, right? Well, the reality is about four in every 10 Aussies regularly have a poor night’s sleep, according to a report from the Royal Australiasian College of Physicians. There are plenty of things that can cause a bad sleep from health to lifestyle factors, but not getting a quality snooze every night can wreak havoc on your health. That’s why investing in your sleep health is one of the best things you can do. An easy place to start if you’re not getting a good night’s sleep is with your mattress. 

The environment in which you sleep – which includes your mattress – can have a major effect on your sleep health, so being comfortable is essential. Choosing the right mattress [link to buying guide] can certainly make a huge difference in your sleep quality, but a new mattress isn’t necessarily cheap. So, if a new mattress isn’t in the budget, what are your options? The good news is there’s an easy and pretty cost-efficient purchase you can make that will quickly improve your sleep quality without breaking the bank. The product? A mattress topper. In this article, we’ll be covering some of the best mattress toppers you can buy in Australia that’ll help you get a better night’s rest and improve your overall health and wellbeing. 

What is a Mattress Topper?

But first, what is a mattress topper? Sounds pretty self-explanatory, but basically a mattress topper is a separate layer that can easily be placed on top of a mattress for extra comfort. People buy mattress toppers for a number of reasons, but usually the most common is to improve the comfort and support of an existing mattress.

Most mattress toppers will sit between 4-8cm in height and generally the thicker the mattress topper, the more comfort and softness it will add to your existing mattress. You can buy thick mattress toppers for extra support, or soft mattress toppers for added comfort. 

Do You Need a Mattress Topper?

Not everyone needs a mattress topper, but if you’re finding you have an old mattress that’s no longer comfortable and might be affecting your sleep quality, a mattress topper can certainly help. Of course, you could buy a new mattress but as we alluded to earlier this is a costly option for some, and a mattress topper is a quick and easy fix.

Even if you find your mattress already comfortable enough, a mattress topper can in some cases extend the life of your mattress, so it might be a worthwhile investment either way. It can also make an old, dusty mattress more hypoallergenic for allergy sufferers. 

How We Picked the Best Mattress Toppers

As with choosing the right mattress, mattress toppers are very subjective and it depends on your needs. From firm to soft, budget to luxury, there are plenty of great mattress toppers out there. So, we’ve done the hard work for you and have considered the following in our review: cost and quality, customer reviews, trial length and warranty. So, without further ado, here are the best mattress toppers you can buy in Australia right now! 

Best Budget

Canningvale Carina Mattress Topper

Best Budget

Cost: $179.99

Trial length: 100 nights

Warranty: 5 years

The Canningvale Carina mattress topper is one of the best budget mattress toppers on the market, filled with ultrafine microfibre for an extremely comfy night’s sleep. And, with its man-made fibres, this topper is less likely to pick up bacteria, while also being odourless, non-irritant and dust mite repellent, making it an excellent option for allergy sufferers.

What customers have to say: 

“Made such a difference with my old mattress. Feels soft and fluffy. Really good price point for how nice it feels.”


Roshain, August 2021, www.canningvale.com

“Was amazing at first but after 1-2 weeks it had flattened. A bit underwhelming.”


Monica, May 2020, www.canningvale.com
Best mid-range

Emma Flip Topper

Best mid-range

Cost: $329

Trial length: 100 nights

Warranty: 10 years

For that extra dose of cosiness, the Emma Flip Topper supports you in exactly the right places and ensures a pleasant sleeping environment. ​With pressure-compensating HRXSupreme foam and soft Airgocell® foam, it’s comfortable no matter what your sleeping type. It’s complete with a breathable UltraDry Cover, helping you sleep cool and dry all night. Not to mention it’s 100% vegan, non-toxic, and certified according to the highest OEKOTEX-100 standards.

What customers have to say: 

“Great mattress topper. I have had a much better night’s sleep since getting this topper. The main reason I purchased the EMMA topper was that had the choice of two sides: soft side and firm side.”


Julie, September 2021, productreview.com.au
Best luxury

Latex Mattress Topper

Best luxury

Cost: $895 (Queen)

Trial length: None

Warranty: 10 year

The Latex Mattress Topper has some of the best reviews on Product Review and that’s despite its hefty price tag! A queen mattress topper comes in at $895, which is almost the cost of a new mattress. However, if you have a mattress you don’t want to part with and can afford this mattress topper, it’s certainly a gamechanger. Designed to give you a more luxurious and comfortable night’s sleep, this pure and natural latex mattress topper will relieve pressure while maintaining optimal spinal alignment. The downside is there’s no trial period, but they do have in-store locations in Queensland and New South Wales where you can go and try it for yourself.

What customers have to say:

“I searched for a topper that would alleviate a hard mattress which was incredibly uncomfortable to sleep on but I didn’t want to buy a new mattress. I chose a Latex Mattress Australia topper due to the great reviews it had received and it has certainly exceeded expectations. It has made my mattress soft and comfortable and as a side sleeper, I am very happy with the purchase. Delivery was prompt and the topper was packaged fantastically.”


Sam, August 2021, productreview.com.au

“We purchased this topper to put on the comfort medium to add more height and have the option to change the feel if we wanted. It is quite comfortable to sleep on but we were not used to the cushion effect and wanted a firmer feel so we placed it on the bottom instead. For the price, I am surprised it doesn’t have any form of elastic to strap it to the mattress to hold them together.”


Mel, January 2021, productreview.com.au
Best gel memory foam

Ecosa

Best gel memory foam

Cost: $400 (Queen)

Trial length: None

Warranty: 10 years

The Ecosa Topper will give you a “squishier” sleep or will restore support and comfort to your current mattress with the product description claiming it will make your mattress 20% softer. If you have an Ecosa mattress and find the medium setting of your Ecosa Mattress too firm, the topper will give you some added comfort. However, you don’t need an Ecosa mattress to get the most out of this topper. Additionally, if you sleep hot this topper will help cool you down with its G-7 Gel Memory Foam. Infused with gel particles, the unique 3D gel structure allows air to flow through pin core holes, so you’ll have no more sweaty nights.

What customers have to say:

“We purchased a new bed & made the mistake of getting one too firm. We purchased a Deluxe Hotel Mattress Topper & it didn’t help at all. We then purchased the Ecosa Mattress Topper & problem is solved. The topper is supportive yet soft. My wife wanted “luxurious” & got it. I wanted “supportive” with the hips but enough give to allow my shoulders to sink in & I got it. Very Happy!”


Paul, February 2021, productreview.com.au

“We were excited to be receiving The Ecosa mattress topper but excitement soon turned to regret. The mattress once expanded does not expand fully on either side, which meant that we were constantly rolling/sinking to the edges of the bed.”


Rebecca, April 2020, productreview.com.au
Best latex

Peacelily (Luxury Plush)

Best latex

Cost: $469 (Queen)

Trial length: 100 nights

Warranty: 10 years

Peacelily’s 100% natural Dunlop latex rubber mattress topper is handcrafted from high quality, natural materials to provide you with premium comfort while keeping things eco-friendly and sustainable. It comes with the option of the Luxury Plush or the Firm (more expensive) comfort option to suit your personal needs. The Peacelily’s latex foam scored a 99/100 on the internationally recognized LGA physical properties test, meaning it demonstrates a combination of remarkable resilience and durability. Not to mention it comes with a 100 night trial and 10 year warranty!

What customers have to say: 

“Just want to say so far the mattress and plush topper are fantastic. I’ve been using the firm side up. I’m just about to turn it and try full cloud mode with the medium side up topped with the plush. Anticipating a great night. Thanks for incredible service and delivery. So far, awesome!”


Jessamy, July 2021, peacelily.com.au
Best down

The Cloud ‘Gen II’ Feather and Down Mattress Topper

Best down

Cost: $548 (Queen)

Trial length: None

Warranty: None

The Cloud Gen II Feather and Down Mattress Topper is a popular choice used by star-rating Australian hotels. It has a ratio of 90% small soft feather and 10% down which makes it feel like you’re sleeping on a real cloud. It even has a higher percentage of fill (2000g/m²) compared to other down toppers on the market (average being 1000g/m²) which all just means extra comfort. And, it also comes with a 100% Japara stain-resistant cover. The downside to this topper is that it’s not hypoallergenic, so if you’re an allergy sufferer, it might not be the right fit for you. There is also no warranty or trial period, but a customer service representative told mattressreviews.com.au that the product undergoes a stringent testing process before packaging.

What customers have to say:

“Love my topper. So glad I made this investment. Cannot highly recommend enough to enjoy your at-home ‘Hotel experience’.”


Stephanie, October 2020, hotelhome.com.au
Best orthopedic

Tempur-Pedic

Best orthopedic

Cost: $615.05 (Queen)

Trial length: None

Warranty: 25 years

Though a US product (which you can ship to Australia via Amazon), Tempur-Pedic certainly makes the best mattress topper for back pain. The Tempur Topper Supreme is made with the unique TEMPUR material and has a firmness of 5. It provides solid yet comfortable back support, which minimises back pain and provides a comfortable night’s sleep. It’s perfect for a mattress that’s too soft, or perhaps one that’s too old and has started to sag. It also comes with a 25-year warranty and provides motion and noise absorption. Plus, the topper cover is washable and has an adaptive body temperature mechanism to help keep you cool all night long.

What customers have to say: 

“I have issues with my hips and our regular mattress was not helping. We had tried other mattress toppers, but with varied success. This topper is so supportive, yet comfortable. I sleep much better now and my hip pain is minimised.”


Sharon, December 2020, amazon.com.au

“This Tempur is not the same as the original used to be: it doesn’t feel firm and then moulds around your shape as the original Tempur did. It’s more like cheaper viscoelastic toppers/mattresses that sink under you. Did not have a good night sleep in this topper. Would return if I could.”


Dan, September 2020, amazon.com.au

The final verdict

So what’s the best mattress topper? As you can see, mattress toppers come in a variety of materials and at a variety of price points. They also solve a range of different mattress problems, so it’s hard to pick just one that solves all issues for all sleepers. However, both the Ecosa and Emma mattress toppers are both reasonably priced and seem to be a great solution to whatever your reason for getting a mattress topper may be, so you can’t go wrong with either one. 

Best Budget

Canningvale Carina Mattress Topper

Best Budget

Cost: $179.99

Trial length: 100 nights

Warranty: 5 years

The Canningvale Carina mattress topper is one of the best budget mattress toppers on the market, filled with ultrafine microfibre for an extremely comfy night’s sleep. And, with its man-made fibres, this topper is less likely to pick up bacteria, while also being odourless, non-irritant and dust mite repellent, making it an excellent option for allergy sufferers.

What customers have to say:

“Made such a difference with my old mattress. Feels soft and fluffy. Really good price point for how nice it feels.”

“Was amazing at first but after 1-2 weeks it had flattened. A bit underwhelming.”

Ally Burnie Head Dreamer Ally Burnie
Journalist, presenter and host based in Sydney with a passion for cooking, outdoor adventures, hiking, humanitarianism, and travel.

Comment

Leave a comment